Deckhand and Captain stay local
On the free Deckhand plan and the Captain plan, your Caves, Chests, bookmarks, and settings remain on your local drive.
Fleet automatically syncs across devices
Fleet is the account plan for users who want their collection synchronized between connected devices. The cloud data used for that automatic sync is encrypted at rest.